Hunter Annual General Meeting 2007 Minutes
Witbank Yacht Club on 24th March 2007

Tony Cockerill the Class Chairperson welcomed everyone

Apologies were received from
The Emmett Family
John Latilla
John Bruckman

The approval of the previous minutes was proposed by Jessica Lenz and seconded by Terrie Pratt


Tony Cockerill as Chairperson stated that this is the 9th year in a row that there has been more than 30 boats participating in the Hunter Nationals.
A big drive to get 50 boats at the 2008 Hunter Nationals will be undertaken. 
2008 is the 40th anniversary of the Hunter coming into South Africa
The KZN Provincials were held during the MSC Regatta. Only 3 Hunters entered. It is believed that the provincials being offshore is a problem due to the age of the boats
The Mpumulanga Champs had 18 entries with Chris Emery as the Bridge Officer.
Mpumulanga has seen a renewed interest in the Hunter Class with the purchase of boats by members. 6 to 8 Boats are regulars at the Club events. Mpumulanga are expected to have at least 10 boats at the Vaal for the 2008 Nationals
The Hunter website has been well looked after by Paul Changuion. Any applicants wishing to enter the discussion forum, should first be vetted by Paul.
Information relating to different events should be submitted by the various areas as follows
KZN – Hank Pike
MP - Lionel Clarke
Vaal – Andrew Edwards
TYC – Andrew Ballard


Tony Cockerill sponsored a “Chairmans Trophy” designed from an 1860 Clipper Block, for anyone within the Hunter Association who had gone the extra mile to promote the Hunter Class. The first recipient of the Trophy is Simon Farrington for all the effort in getting boats from other areas to Witbank for the Nationals and for the slipping of boats.
It was noted that the next Hunter Nationals would be sailed out of Lake Deneys Yacht Club. The regatta will fall over the Easter weekend. The Easter Regatta normally sailed out of LDYC was not deemed to be an issue. The regatta will be sailed from Friday 21st March to Monday 24th March 2008.


Jessica Lenz stated that in February 2007, the Hunter Association had R13000,00 in the bank account. This increased to R16000.00 after the Mpumulanga Champs
Purchases in the past year include the Class Scale, medals and the web site.


At the last AGM there were 7 masts left. The last count revealed only 5 i.e. 2 are missing. No one has come up with a logical explanation to the disappearance of the two masts.
Hullett Aluminium are prepared to cast new dies however a minimum weight of 250kg per annum is required to make it feasible. If the dies are not used frequently they become useless.
All the information is with Dave Claxton. Tony Cockerill will collect the balance of the masts from Dave. Any report back will be via the web site.


Schneider sponsored R2000.00 towards the T Shirts for the 2007 Hunter Nationals and Quantum sponsored R750.00. A big thank you was extended to the sponsors.


The Hunter subscriptions will be kept at R60.00 per annum. Skipper and crew have to be members of the Association
Should the Association decide on a project, the annual subscription will be reviewed.


Much debate took place regarding what the host clubs should contribute back to the Hunter Association.
The decision taken is that the host club will pay to the Hunter Association R50.00 for every boat entered. 
The late entry fee remains with the Hunter Association.




This was discussed under point 5.1 of the Financial Report


The Rules allow for a tolerance in measurement of 75mm
Quantum are manufacturing sails as close to the maximum size as possible resulting in a 0.6m2 bigger sail than those manufactured by North Sails
It was felt by some competitors that although the sails measured at time of purchase, after a few regattas, the sails would be oversized as a result of stretch.

A vote to either leave the measurement rule as is or to change the tolerance factor was taken. The majority vote was to leave the Rules as is.


6.3 RULES.
The Technical committee will review all the rules and go through the points of the letter from North Sails regarding the sail sizes and propose changes.
The sail makers competiveness was appreciated.
All changes of any of the Rules must be in the interest of “fair sailing” 
The Rules were altered in 1998 and again in 2004.
Technical Committee must be given a mandate regarding changes to the Rules.


The following Office Bearers were elected

Chairperson - Tony Cockerill
Treasurer - Jessica Lenz
Secretary - Terrie Pratt

The Technical Committee was appointed as follows
Class Measurers
Dave Martinsen – Witbank
Andrew Edwards – Vaal
Simon Farrington – Vaal
Mike Serguson – Natal
Hank Pike – Natal
Colin Hay – Witbank
Mark Stockhauzen – Natal
Frank Lenz - Vaal

Technical Committee
John Bruckman
Simon Farrington
Dave Martinsen
Tony Cockerill
Frank Lenz

The meeting was closed at 16H20